Walk the madness out of this Holiday Season

We should all take a long walk….

id-100487652

Thanksgiving flew by this Season already, but as usual in the stores those Turkey decorations were already alongside Christmas decor by the end of Halloween. (Or before, depending on what region you live in.)

I worked the day before Thanksgiving as most of us did and made a mad rush to the Grocer before 6 pm that evening. Why? Because with my work schedule, my husbands schedule and the daycare schedule for our child we had no choice, that’s why. Much like you people, who join me in the last minute madness with your own excuses as to why you had to do it the last minute too. I get it. We all get it.

I should have been surprised to see the isles cram packed with families joining me in the last minute rush of picking up last minute things, but I wasn’t.

I never am. (Image courtesy of Maxim Weise at FreeDigitalPhotos.net)

id-100348775

Instead, I was kinda sad. Parents were rushing through the isles, most of them plastered to their cell phones checking the lists their spouses or whoever texted them.

I realized I was one of them as I nearly ran into an elderly man with my phone glued to my face.

I stepped back, apologized and let him pass.

It was then it hit me. This is madness!

This is the same every year. Every single year it’s always a mad dash at the last minute. It’s always some lunatic losing their mind in the crowds, screaming at their kids who keep running off, or some idiot running into an old person. (Me, I mean.)

It’s always hurry, rush, Oh my God are you done yet?! Where is the cashier!? Hurry up and scan my items so I can rush out to my car, nearly get run over by some other mad dash person who is doing the same thing!

And it was only Thanksgiving. (Image courtesy of nenetus at FreeDigitalPhotos.net)

Sometimes we need to take a long walk. 

Sometimes we need to think about why we do what we do, and realize that most of what we do in those mad rushes are madness.

id-10020801And now here it is, Thanksgiving is over. Black Friday is over. And the sales are still on. And Christmas isn’t even here yet.

Life can be so overwhelming with balancing a career, family and marriage. Juggling bills that may or may not get paid to buy Christmas for the kids, and wishing you just had a few moments peace.

I think people want peace. People want to have time to themselves to breathe, to unwind, and just be who they are without rushing into crowds, pushing into people, glaring at a cell phone while juggling the budget in their heads.

We all need to take a long walk.

(Image courtesy of Paul at FreeDigitalPhotos.net)

id-100375074

As you are rushing to the store this Holiday Christmas Season, I hope you make the time to take a walk. Take a breath. Walk away from the drama, the complainers, the negative pains that bug you on a daily basis. Walking gets your blood flowing, it makes you think. It makes you breathe. It does things to your body and mind that no shopping in a mad dash can cure. (Image courtesy of OZphotography at FreeDigitalPhotos.net)

id-100387473

We’ve all been there and go through it on a daily basis.

That moment when you are standing or rushing in public and you realize that everyone else are like clones and doing the same thing you are.

That’s when it hits you.

This is madness! You realize.

People need a break. The Holidays have turned into madness.

I implore you before you rush out to do your shopping this Holiday Season, to look at yourself and say: “Have I taken any time for me?”

If the answer is NO, then you need to stop what you are doing. Take a walk. Breathe.

(Image courtesy of alex_ugalek at FreeDigitalPhotos.net)

Leave a Reply

